MadMup.com
If you're not outraged, you're not paying attention.
About Me
My EmailMy Forum
My Music
My Pictures
My Space
My Store
My Tube
My Webcam Archive
Some Favorite Posts
- Advice From Chocolate
- Continuing A Theme
- Inukshuk
- Like Me, Dang It!
- Peace of Cake
- R-E-S-P-E-C-T
- R.I.P. Zumba
- A Shared Moment
- Snakes on a Plane
- Viva la Revolución!
- Worthwhile
- Zen & the Art of Hard Drive Maintenance
Archives
- April 2003
- May 2003
- June 2003
- July 2003
- August 2003
- September 2003
- November 2003
- December 2003
- January 2004
- February 2004
- March 2004
- April 2004
- May 2004
- June 2004
- July 2004
- August 2004
- September 2004
- October 2004
- November 2004
- December 2004
- January 2005
- February 2005
- March 2005
- April 2005
- May 2005
- June 2005
- July 2005
- August 2005
- September 2005
- October 2005
- November 2005
- December 2005
- January 2006
- February 2006
- March 2006
- April 2006
- May 2006
- June 2006
- July 2006
- August 2006
- September 2006
- October 2006
- November 2006
- December 2006
- January 2007
- February 2007
- March 2007
- April 2007
- May 2007
- June 2007
- July 2007
- August 2007
- September 2007
- October 2007
- November 2007
- December 2007
- January 2008
- February 2008
- March 2008
- April 2008
- May 2008
- June 2008
- July 2008
- September 2008
- October 2008
- November 2008
- December 2008
- January 2009
- February 2009
- March 2009
- April 2009
- May 2009
- June 2009
- July 2009
- August 2009
- September 2009
- October 2009
- November 2009
- December 2009
- March 2010

Wednesday, March 03, 2004
Lines
I messed with some people's heads last night at Best Buy. There were only two registers open, and they were facing each other, so it was kind of one big open area in-between them. I stood in the middle of the two, waiting to see which one would open up first. They do this in England all the time - it's called "queuing up." Basically everyone gets in one line, which then feeds to the next available slot. This is opposed to the 4 or 5 short lines, and none of them are ever "the quickest."
Queuing up is the most logical, most efficient way to handle the checkout procedure. Which means, of course, that we Americans don't use it. I've only seen it a few times in America, at fast food places and in a lot of stores (Best Buy included) on the day after Thanksgiving. See? Even there people realize it's the most efficient. So why aren't we doing it all the time?!?
I have a theory. I think it's because Americans like to claim things: land, parking spaces, dibs. Choosing a line is an American's way of saying, "This is mine! I chose it! I will rise or fall based on my choice!"
There are other factors, of course. If there's a cute girl at one particular checkout, you might see a slightly longer line of geeky guys at that checkout.
So I'm standing there in my own private queue, staunchly set against all manner of unwritten American guidelines, when a couple comes up behind me to get in line. I hear furtive muttering. I am very obviously not in either line, but I am also very obviously intending to purchase something. I wait. Finally, the man in the couple asks. "Which line are you in?" I smile and say, "I'm queuing up!" and go on to explain why. The man smiles and nods and says, "I'll go along with that. I've got nothing better to do." The woman looks as if we're both crazy. She wants a line. "Nothing doing," I think.
Finally, one of the lines opens up, and I take my place. I turn and thank my fellow queuers and ask them to help start the revolution.
See, the problem is the interim. Once it was standard, we'd all be happier. But for now, if that couple hadn't acquiesced, they could have cut in one of the lines and ruined the whole thing. It's the same reason America couldn't make the switch to the metric system. How do you raise a generation to use metric when the previous generation is using standard? Can't be done. Again, metric is more logical and could be considered the better choice. You won't catch me using it, though.
And that's exactly the problem.
Queuing up is the most logical, most efficient way to handle the checkout procedure. Which means, of course, that we Americans don't use it. I've only seen it a few times in America, at fast food places and in a lot of stores (Best Buy included) on the day after Thanksgiving. See? Even there people realize it's the most efficient. So why aren't we doing it all the time?!?
I have a theory. I think it's because Americans like to claim things: land, parking spaces, dibs. Choosing a line is an American's way of saying, "This is mine! I chose it! I will rise or fall based on my choice!"
There are other factors, of course. If there's a cute girl at one particular checkout, you might see a slightly longer line of geeky guys at that checkout.
So I'm standing there in my own private queue, staunchly set against all manner of unwritten American guidelines, when a couple comes up behind me to get in line. I hear furtive muttering. I am very obviously not in either line, but I am also very obviously intending to purchase something. I wait. Finally, the man in the couple asks. "Which line are you in?" I smile and say, "I'm queuing up!" and go on to explain why. The man smiles and nods and says, "I'll go along with that. I've got nothing better to do." The woman looks as if we're both crazy. She wants a line. "Nothing doing," I think.
Finally, one of the lines opens up, and I take my place. I turn and thank my fellow queuers and ask them to help start the revolution.
See, the problem is the interim. Once it was standard, we'd all be happier. But for now, if that couple hadn't acquiesced, they could have cut in one of the lines and ruined the whole thing. It's the same reason America couldn't make the switch to the metric system. How do you raise a generation to use metric when the previous generation is using standard? Can't be done. Again, metric is more logical and could be considered the better choice. You won't catch me using it, though.
And that's exactly the problem.
Comments:
Post a Comment

Click Pic for Full Size, Comments, & Archives
Movie Journal
- (2010): 6
- (2009): 221
- (2008): 241
- (2007): 107
- (2006): 371
- (2005): 263
Blogs I Read
- Cathartic Ink
- Cremes
- Cynical Rantings
- Gret Reads 24/7
- Jim Gibbon.com
- Life in Idle
- Living By Faith
- Living Intelligently
- The O-Files
- Pixxelations.net
- RandomThink.net
- Smoothie King
- The Tiffinian
- Waltzian Heresies
Comics I Read
- Dilbert
- FoxTrot
- Get Fuzzy
- Joe Loves Crappy Movies
- Pearls Before Swine
- PvP
- Real Life
- Theater Hopper
- White Bread & Toast