MadMup.com
If you're not outraged, you're not paying attention.
About Me
My EmailMy Forum
My Music
My Pictures
My Space
My Store
My Tube
My Webcam Archive
Some Favorite Posts
- Advice From Chocolate
- Continuing A Theme
- Inukshuk
- Like Me, Dang It!
- Peace of Cake
- R-E-S-P-E-C-T
- R.I.P. Zumba
- A Shared Moment
- Snakes on a Plane
- Viva la Revolución!
- Worthwhile
- Zen & the Art of Hard Drive Maintenance
Archives
- April 2003
- May 2003
- June 2003
- July 2003
- August 2003
- September 2003
- November 2003
- December 2003
- January 2004
- February 2004
- March 2004
- April 2004
- May 2004
- June 2004
- July 2004
- August 2004
- September 2004
- October 2004
- November 2004
- December 2004
- January 2005
- February 2005
- March 2005
- April 2005
- May 2005
- June 2005
- July 2005
- August 2005
- September 2005
- October 2005
- November 2005
- December 2005
- January 2006
- February 2006
- March 2006
- April 2006
- May 2006
- June 2006
- July 2006
- August 2006
- September 2006
- October 2006
- November 2006
- December 2006
- January 2007
- February 2007
- March 2007
- April 2007
- May 2007
- June 2007
- July 2007
- August 2007
- September 2007
- October 2007
- November 2007
- December 2007
- January 2008
- February 2008
- March 2008
- April 2008
- May 2008
- June 2008
- July 2008
- September 2008
- October 2008
- November 2008
- December 2008
- January 2009
- February 2009
- March 2009
- April 2009
- May 2009
- June 2009
- July 2009
- August 2009
- September 2009
- October 2009
- November 2009
- December 2009
- March 2010

Thursday, March 11, 2004
Paging Emily Post
What's the correct procedure for double doors? I'm a big one for holding the door for people - I'm not going to wait for 5 minutes for someone to come along or anything, but if someone's relatively close behind me, I'm good for a hold or two. There's always the danger of getting sucked in and being there for several minutes, but it's a risk I'm generally willing to take.
But double doors flummox me. I can hold one door for you, but how do I get to the second one ahead of you? If I'm walking with someone, some people will wait for me to get it for them, and I don't mind that. I still kind of half-run to get it, but it's nice that they recognize I want to hole the door open. If I don't get to the second door and they open it themselves, what was the point of me getting the first one?
And if someone opens the first one in front of me and kind of hold it open behind them as they walk through, I generally say "thanks." That's as good as a full hold to me. But should I say "thanks" again if they do that for the second door, too? Is it implied that I'm thankful for both holds if I say thanks after the first one? If I don't say "thanks" after the first one, they might view me as ungrateful and I might not get the second one.
It would seem to me that a good system is I'll hold the first door open, you say "thanks." Then you hold the second door open, and I'll say "thanks." But that defeats the whole purpose of holding the door open for someone, I think. If I want to be a gentleman and hold the door for a lady, I effectively end my gentleman-ness by expecting her to hold the next one for me.
While I'm on the subject, why is it that if you hold the door for a string of people, why is it that you get a "thanks" from roughly 15% of the passers-through? I don't do it for the thanks, but when someone does give me one, it makes me wonder why the rest of them didn't. Maybe they're thinking "if he hadn't held it, someone else would have, or I just would've gotten it." Or maybe "he was already holding it when I got here, so it wasn't for me, it was for that first person." Either way, I try to thank people when they do it for me.
I just don't want to overthank anybody, you know?
But double doors flummox me. I can hold one door for you, but how do I get to the second one ahead of you? If I'm walking with someone, some people will wait for me to get it for them, and I don't mind that. I still kind of half-run to get it, but it's nice that they recognize I want to hole the door open. If I don't get to the second door and they open it themselves, what was the point of me getting the first one?
And if someone opens the first one in front of me and kind of hold it open behind them as they walk through, I generally say "thanks." That's as good as a full hold to me. But should I say "thanks" again if they do that for the second door, too? Is it implied that I'm thankful for both holds if I say thanks after the first one? If I don't say "thanks" after the first one, they might view me as ungrateful and I might not get the second one.
It would seem to me that a good system is I'll hold the first door open, you say "thanks." Then you hold the second door open, and I'll say "thanks." But that defeats the whole purpose of holding the door open for someone, I think. If I want to be a gentleman and hold the door for a lady, I effectively end my gentleman-ness by expecting her to hold the next one for me.
While I'm on the subject, why is it that if you hold the door for a string of people, why is it that you get a "thanks" from roughly 15% of the passers-through? I don't do it for the thanks, but when someone does give me one, it makes me wonder why the rest of them didn't. Maybe they're thinking "if he hadn't held it, someone else would have, or I just would've gotten it." Or maybe "he was already holding it when I got here, so it wasn't for me, it was for that first person." Either way, I try to thank people when they do it for me.
I just don't want to overthank anybody, you know?
Comments:
Post a Comment

Click Pic for Full Size, Comments, & Archives
Movie Journal
- (2010): 6
- (2009): 221
- (2008): 241
- (2007): 107
- (2006): 371
- (2005): 263
Blogs I Read
- Cathartic Ink
- Cremes
- Cynical Rantings
- Gret Reads 24/7
- Jim Gibbon.com
- Life in Idle
- Living By Faith
- Living Intelligently
- The O-Files
- Pixxelations.net
- RandomThink.net
- Smoothie King
- The Tiffinian
- Waltzian Heresies
Comics I Read
- Dilbert
- FoxTrot
- Get Fuzzy
- Joe Loves Crappy Movies
- Pearls Before Swine
- PvP
- Real Life
- Theater Hopper
- White Bread & Toast