MadMup.com
If you're not outraged, you're not paying attention.
About Me
My EmailMy Forum
My Music
My Pictures
My Space
My Store
My Tube
My Webcam Archive
Some Favorite Posts
- Advice From Chocolate
- Continuing A Theme
- Inukshuk
- Like Me, Dang It!
- Peace of Cake
- R-E-S-P-E-C-T
- R.I.P. Zumba
- A Shared Moment
- Snakes on a Plane
- Viva la Revolución!
- Worthwhile
- Zen & the Art of Hard Drive Maintenance
Archives
- April 2003
- May 2003
- June 2003
- July 2003
- August 2003
- September 2003
- November 2003
- December 2003
- January 2004
- February 2004
- March 2004
- April 2004
- May 2004
- June 2004
- July 2004
- August 2004
- September 2004
- October 2004
- November 2004
- December 2004
- January 2005
- February 2005
- March 2005
- April 2005
- May 2005
- June 2005
- July 2005
- August 2005
- September 2005
- October 2005
- November 2005
- December 2005
- January 2006
- February 2006
- March 2006
- April 2006
- May 2006
- June 2006
- July 2006
- August 2006
- September 2006
- October 2006
- November 2006
- December 2006
- January 2007
- February 2007
- March 2007
- April 2007
- May 2007
- June 2007
- July 2007
- August 2007
- September 2007
- October 2007
- November 2007
- December 2007
- January 2008
- February 2008
- March 2008
- April 2008
- May 2008
- June 2008
- July 2008
- September 2008
- October 2008
- November 2008
- December 2008
- January 2009
- February 2009
- March 2009
- April 2009
- May 2009
- June 2009
- July 2009
- August 2009
- September 2009
- October 2009
- November 2009
- December 2009
- March 2010

Saturday, May 22, 2004
Last Day of Improv
We had our last practice this morning, and the "fillers-in" joined us as well. You'll recall that our class is small enough that we're getting 3 people from the regular troupe to fill in.
We didn't get asked for our three characters, which was good because I never got around to making any... I ended up doing a German-ish/French dude accent for one game that I was pretty happy with.
The teams got switched around, so it's now my team that has two of the regulars and two of us class members. Our practice went pretty well this morning, so I'm hoping it'll be good tonight. And by "good" I mean "funny," of course.
Yes, I'm nervous a bit. Since it's improv, you never know how a show will go. If we get lousy suggestions, it's hard to make that funny. At the same time, though, if we get familiar suggestions, I feel guilty. Like if we were to get "farmer" as a suggestion, the temptation will be for one of us to dance as a clue. I know that makes no sense, but it's one of those "in-jokes" that just happened through the practices. So if I were to get "farmer" I would want to do whatever else I could to get that across, because I'd feel guilty using the dancing. However, if they just weren't getting it, I'd default to it. It's kind of a cheat, in my opinion.
I'll let you know how it went after the show. Six hours to go until showtime!
We didn't get asked for our three characters, which was good because I never got around to making any... I ended up doing a German-ish/French dude accent for one game that I was pretty happy with.
The teams got switched around, so it's now my team that has two of the regulars and two of us class members. Our practice went pretty well this morning, so I'm hoping it'll be good tonight. And by "good" I mean "funny," of course.
Yes, I'm nervous a bit. Since it's improv, you never know how a show will go. If we get lousy suggestions, it's hard to make that funny. At the same time, though, if we get familiar suggestions, I feel guilty. Like if we were to get "farmer" as a suggestion, the temptation will be for one of us to dance as a clue. I know that makes no sense, but it's one of those "in-jokes" that just happened through the practices. So if I were to get "farmer" I would want to do whatever else I could to get that across, because I'd feel guilty using the dancing. However, if they just weren't getting it, I'd default to it. It's kind of a cheat, in my opinion.
I'll let you know how it went after the show. Six hours to go until showtime!
Comments:
Post a Comment

Click Pic for Full Size, Comments, & Archives
Movie Journal
- (2010): 6
- (2009): 221
- (2008): 241
- (2007): 107
- (2006): 371
- (2005): 263
Blogs I Read
- Cathartic Ink
- Cremes
- Cynical Rantings
- Gret Reads 24/7
- Jim Gibbon.com
- Life in Idle
- Living By Faith
- Living Intelligently
- The O-Files
- Pixxelations.net
- RandomThink.net
- Smoothie King
- The Tiffinian
- Waltzian Heresies
Comics I Read
- Dilbert
- FoxTrot
- Get Fuzzy
- Joe Loves Crappy Movies
- Pearls Before Swine
- PvP
- Real Life
- Theater Hopper
- White Bread & Toast