MadMup.com
If you're not outraged, you're not paying attention.
About Me
My EmailMy Forum
My Music
My Pictures
My Space
My Store
My Tube
My Webcam Archive
Some Favorite Posts
- Advice From Chocolate
- Continuing A Theme
- Inukshuk
- Like Me, Dang It!
- Peace of Cake
- R-E-S-P-E-C-T
- R.I.P. Zumba
- A Shared Moment
- Snakes on a Plane
- Viva la Revolución!
- Worthwhile
- Zen & the Art of Hard Drive Maintenance
Archives
- April 2003
- May 2003
- June 2003
- July 2003
- August 2003
- September 2003
- November 2003
- December 2003
- January 2004
- February 2004
- March 2004
- April 2004
- May 2004
- June 2004
- July 2004
- August 2004
- September 2004
- October 2004
- November 2004
- December 2004
- January 2005
- February 2005
- March 2005
- April 2005
- May 2005
- June 2005
- July 2005
- August 2005
- September 2005
- October 2005
- November 2005
- December 2005
- January 2006
- February 2006
- March 2006
- April 2006
- May 2006
- June 2006
- July 2006
- August 2006
- September 2006
- October 2006
- November 2006
- December 2006
- January 2007
- February 2007
- March 2007
- April 2007
- May 2007
- June 2007
- July 2007
- August 2007
- September 2007
- October 2007
- November 2007
- December 2007
- January 2008
- February 2008
- March 2008
- April 2008
- May 2008
- June 2008
- July 2008
- September 2008
- October 2008
- November 2008
- December 2008
- January 2009
- February 2009
- March 2009
- April 2009
- May 2009
- June 2009
- July 2009
- August 2009
- September 2009
- October 2009
- November 2009
- December 2009
- March 2010

Wednesday, May 02, 2007
Just The Facts
The story you are about to read is true. The names have been changed to protect the innocent.
With many assurances that my apartment "wasn't that bad," the members of 3 Cool Chicks Cleaners (Motto: "You won't recognize the place when we're done with it") were packing up their gear and headed out. Two-thirds of them had left when an SUV pulled up and parked behind the remaining car.
The SUV was gray, both indescript and foreboding at the same time. You might not notice it if were next to you on the street, but you sure as anything would notice it if it was specifically parked behind your car to prevent your leaving. Make no mistake: the parking was intentional. This was no "in the middle of the parking lot" stop. It was parked where it was parked for a purpose.
A man emerged, walked around the front of the vehicle, and stood near its passenger door.
"Excuse me," he said. "Are you _______?"
I didn't quite catch the name he said, but it didn't sound anything like my name, so I said I wasn't.
"How long have you lived here?" he asked.
"A year and a - well, two years this summer."
"Why am I telling this guy anything?" I wondered.
"Who lives next door?"
"Uh, I don't know any of my neighbors' names."
"How long have they lived here?"
"That one was empty for six months or more, and the people moved out of this one in November. These new people have only been here a little while."
"Why am I still telling this guy anything???"
"Oh. Well, I'm a private investigator and I'm tracking down ________," he said, as he started moving back around his SUV toward the driver door.
"Oh. Well... good luck."
"We'll get him," he said, climbing into his SUV and closing the door.
A bunch of thoughts ran through my mind:
- First, this guy was no Thomas Magnum.
- Second, while I was aware that there were actual private detectives hopping around, it was still weird to have this kind of reminder.
- Third, why did I tell him anything?!?
- Fourth, why is he doing this detecting at 9:30 at night? Is this like a second job for him so this is the only time he can do it? CPA by day, detective by night! (Really, though, by the looks of him, it would be "gym teacher by day.")
- Fifth, what did "the guy" do? Did "the guy" really used to live where I'm living? Should I be checking my apartment for hidden compartments full of cash? Maybe the guy left behind his elaborate schemes mapped out in specific detail. You'd think I would have stumbled upon any of that by now, but I'm not the most observant person. I'd make a lousy P.I.
Comments:
Its good to know this weird stuff happens to somebody else...
So, i guess if you decided to midnight as a PI you'd have to trade cars the wagon isn't nearly as foreboding as an unmarked grey SUV.
So, i guess if you decided to midnight as a PI you'd have to trade cars the wagon isn't nearly as foreboding as an unmarked grey SUV.
Oh, man, I missed it!
I would've starting asking HIM questions. Get the scoop.
Dude, you people from the Cheese-state are WAY too sheltered.
Post a Comment
I would've starting asking HIM questions. Get the scoop.
Dude, you people from the Cheese-state are WAY too sheltered.

Click Pic for Full Size, Comments, & Archives
Movie Journal
- (2010): 6
- (2009): 221
- (2008): 241
- (2007): 107
- (2006): 371
- (2005): 263
Blogs I Read
- Cathartic Ink
- Cremes
- Cynical Rantings
- Gret Reads 24/7
- Jim Gibbon.com
- Life in Idle
- Living By Faith
- Living Intelligently
- The O-Files
- Pixxelations.net
- RandomThink.net
- Smoothie King
- The Tiffinian
- Waltzian Heresies
Comics I Read
- Dilbert
- FoxTrot
- Get Fuzzy
- Joe Loves Crappy Movies
- Pearls Before Swine
- PvP
- Real Life
- Theater Hopper
- White Bread & Toast

