<$BlogRSDUrl$>
MadMup.com

If you're not outraged, you're not paying attention.


About Me
My Email
My Forum
My Music
My Pictures
My Space
My Store
My Tube
My Webcam Archive


    follow me on Twitter



    Some Favorite Posts


    Archives


    This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

    Saturday, May 23, 2009

    There's A Me In Team

    I joined a softball team for the summer.

    I will give you a minute for saying "whoa" or laughing or having whatever reaction you choose.

    Okay.  Truth be told, I had pretty much the same reaction.  I was on the baseball team for two seasons in high school, but I haven't picked up a bat since then.  If I've picked up a glove since then, I don't remember it.  My whole exercise regime could be summed up similarly. 

    There were three reasons I signed up:
    1. I spent the last couple of months avoiding people.  I thought softball would be a way for me to get back into the habit of being around people, and people I'm not necessarily around much even when I'm not avoiding people.

    2. I thought it might be a good way for me to get some exercise. As I mentioned, I haven't gotten much for a long time.  This last birthday was a stark reminder that, hey, I'm getting old.  Not much I can do about that, but maybe getting some exercise would help. Most folk seem to agree with that theory.  Worth checking out, I guess.  I've started going to the batting cage and doing the treadmill.  Small steps, but hopefully they'll lead somewhere.

    3. I'm boring.  This isn't just a self-assessment - I've heard it from others. I'm forced to agree. Sum me up and you'll get a small list: Scrabble, movies, videogames, work, and church.  Trying new things is a way for me to try to be less boring.
    Somewhere in the house is my baseball glove.  I saw it the other day, but I can't remember where and I can't find it again.  Finding it is one of my main goals for the weekend, because we have practice on Wednesday.

    I'm looking forward to the experience, even though I fully expect to get injured and/or embarass myself.  I'll keep you posted.

    Labels: ,

    Comments:
    We will make sure we get a picture of this as well! ;O)
     
    Anyone else have a mental picture of Costanza and Jerry with an Improv jersey? (OK, maybe more like Costanza?)
     
    You did a great job at the first game!
     
    Post a Comment


    Current Webcam Pic
    Click Pic for Full Size, Comments, & Archives


    Movie Journal


    Blogs I Read


    Comics I Read


    Links